My Favorite Images / Harris’s Hawk

I was scouting early one morning when I saw this Harris’s Hawk hunting high above the alpine meadows of Yellowstone National Park. He would hover over the fields looking for mice and pikas and when it spotted them, would dive down and at incredible speeds to ambush its prey. He would return regularly to this perch in the Whitebark Pine tree. I slowly and carefully positioned myself to place the moonrise in the image. He only perched one time after I had positioned myself and was able to catch a few images of him with the moon in the background.

 

Canon EOS 1D MKIII, EF 400mm F2.8 L USM lens, 1/4 Canon tele-converter,  Gitzo Monopod

Leave a Reply

