My Favorite Images / Gentle Touch of Water

 

 

 

I was photographing this Great Blue Heron hunting on the banks of a canal in the Swanquater National Wildlife Refuge in eastern North Carolina. I shot him for several minutes when he suddenly launched into the air and headed off in the opposite direction. I quickly positioned myself to fire off several frames of him using his large wings to get airborne. I knew his wings had hit the water during the flight but, it was not until I was editing and processing the images that I saw how gently a touch of the water it was and that his head was slightly turned and his beak was open.

Canon EOS 1D MKIII, EF 400mm F2.8 L USM lens, 1/4 Teleconverter, Gitzo Monopod

One thought on “My Favorite Images / Gentle Touch of Water

Leave a Reply

