My Favorite Images / Great Egret Eye to Eye

 

I photographed this Great Egret fishing the canals of the Alligator River National Wildlife Refuge in eastern North Carolina. Once he realized I was no danger to him I was able to slowly walk along the banks of the canal with him until he settled down to fish. He never flew more than 40 or 50 feet away from me. I really like that his bill seems transparent with the backlight.

 

Canon EOS 1D MKIII, EF 400mm F.8 L USM, 2x Canon Teleconverter, Gitzo Monopod

Leave a Reply

