My Favorite Images / Red Skies over Mount Pisgah

 

Red Skies over Mount Pisgah

Mount Pisgah is a mountain in the Appalachian Mountain Range and part of the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. The mountain’s height is 5,721 feet (1,744 m) and it is about 15 miles southwest along the Blue Ridge Parkway from my hometown of Asheville, NC. This time of year the skies can turn to these beautiful colors moments after sunset so I try to take advantage of all the opportunities I can and be prepared just in case. The evening sunset was not that good but, I noticed that the clouds had the chance to be painted in the reddish sunsetting light. I positioned myself along a closed road section of the Blue Ridge Parkway and waited…….to what turned out to be this evening’s light show.

 

Canon EOS 1D MKIII, EF 70-200mm F2.8 IS L USM lens, Gitzo Tripod

Leave a Reply

