My Favorite Images / NO Really…. I Meant “EYE To EYE” with a Black Snake

This is what I meant by NOT having the snake’s attention draw to me!!!

as published in a blog early today………

This Black Snake was about 6 feet long and in a tree branch beside a mountain stream in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The different angle of view is what caught my eye. I wanted to get close enough to see his round eyes and the lines created by his scales on his head, but I also wanted to be far enough not to change his normal hunting behaviors.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That is why I used my 300mm lens with a 1/4 teleconverter allowing me to photograph him acting naturally and paying no attention to me.

Canon EOS 1D MK3, EF 300mm F2.8 IS USM L lens, 1/4x Canon Teleconverter

Leave a Reply

